Moss Capsule sectioning for slide making

Here you can discuss sample and specimen preparation issues.
mrsonchus

Moss Capsule sectioning for slide making

#1 Post by mrsonchus » Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:23 am

Hi all, I'm just about to begin an attempt to section some nice capsules of moss collected and placed into fixative a while back. I think the moss is 'Funaria.hygrometrica' but I'm not sure, I'm a total beginner with mosses at the moment.

The plan is to produce permanently-mounted and differentially-stained slides of the capsules of Funaria.hygrometrica in both longitudinal (LS) and transverse (TS) sections, maybe both orientations together on the same slide/s if possible. This may well end in a horrible aborted mess, but then again I'll have to have a go in order to find out! There's an awful lot that could go awry folks; I've never sectioned moss capsules before, so please bear with if things get messy.... :D

I'm going to use the 'double embedding' technique I posted about a year or two ago now, as I think it will help with the orientation of the tiny and irregularly-shaped capsules in order to get some good longitudinal and transverse sections - hopefully anyway! I'll also embed some without the double technique, for a comparison of the logistics/practicalities and indeed results of the two methods.

This thread won't be totally comprehensive in terms of the stages as I've already posted the complete method as some will know, when I sectioned Sonchus seeds and again some Daffodil anthers - a quick search for 'double embedding' and 'mrsonchus' as the subject and author here will lead you to those posts if you would like to read a lot more about this technique.

Here's a link to my first go at double embedding back in 2015...
Here's my next attempt