Question about the D.J. Patterson key

Have problems identifying an organism? Ask for help here.
Jerradin

Question about the D.J. Patterson key

#1 Post by Jerradin » Tue Sep 08, 2020 4:37 am

Hello! I'm a hobbyist-level microscopist, and I've been relying pretty heavily on Free-Living Freshwater Protozoa: A Colour Guide by D.J. Patterson for identification of the protozoa I'm finding. This guide uses a binary key to sort the protozoa it identifies, which isn't my favorite method, but the photographs it has are just great, so I've been pretty hooked on it.

I tend to get tripped up on one of the binary sorting steps, though - and it's an early one, so it affects a lot of my observations. In identifying ciliates, Step 131 differentiates between "Cells that normally crawl against the substrate" versus "Cells that do not normally crawl over the substrate, but either swim freely or are embedded in the substrate." I have a very hard time choosing which path to follow in this key. Most of the ciliates I observe seem to swim freely, with a few obvious exceptions, but that path in the key reduces the possible ciliates considerably. Meanwhile, ciliates that I frequently see swimming freely, such as Stylonychia or Climacostomum, are behind the "crawling against the substrate" branch.

Can anyone who's familiar with the Patterson key help me understand better what distinction is being made here, and how to recognize which path I should follow when looking at a given ciliate on the slide? Thank you!

Bruce Taylor

Re: Question about the D.J. Patterson key

#2 Post by Bruce Taylor » Tue Sep 08, 2020 1:15 pm