Help with two idents

Have problems identifying an organism? Ask for help here.
mintakax

Help with two idents

#1 Post by mintakax » Thu Aug 08, 2019 7:13 pm

I'm new at this and am struggling with trying to ID things I'm seeing. Could someone ID the two creatures in this short video. The second creature shoots out some kind of long feeler, fascinating !

https://vimeo.com/352779967

and also if you could suggest some kind of reference to ID fresh water pond creatures I'd really appreciate it. I'd like to be able to do it on my own someday.
Thanks !

Roldorf

Re: Help with two idents

#2 Post by Roldorf » Thu Aug 08, 2019 9:05 pm

Hi Mintakax

Here is a website to get you started:-

http://lifeinfreshwater.net/

Unknown Brand: Optika SFX 91: Bresser Science Infinity: Canon 4000d
ImageImage

mintakax

#3 Post by mintakax » Fri Aug 09, 2019 12:31 am

The first one must be a paramecium and the second some kind of amoeba ? This couldn't be Balamuthia could it ?

actinophrys

#4 Post by actinophrys » Fri Aug 09, 2019 6:20 am

The first one is definitely a ciliate. It's not a Paramecium, which have a prominent oral groove, but I'm not sure I can make out a mouth well enough to guess what it is instead. Note that while it might be less natural looking, often brightfield gives you better detail for recognizing them. The second one looks like Mastigamoeba or Mastigella, which are Archamoebea, one of a few groups of amoebae that also have flagella. It's a neat find – I've never seen one.