Liquidation auctions, etc.

Have a problem finding shops that sell specific materials? Ask here. Are you looking for microscope parts? Do you have anything to offer for sale? Note: this is not a section for external companies to advertise their products.
tom-in-the-lab

Liquidation auctions, etc.

#1 Post by tom-in-the-lab » Sat May 11, 2024 7:36 pm

I'm curious -- are there particular liquidation/auction sites or types of events that people use to find microscopes and accessories being sold off from (e.g.) biotech startups and companies that are downsizing or going out of business? I get the sense that it's possible to get good stuff for pennies on the dollar if you know where to look, but I don't yet really know where to look.

Some backstory: I'm an assistant professor doing materials science research in an area with a high concentration of biotech companies, and I'm hoping to stretch my budget while outfitting my lab.

PeteM

Re: Liquidation auctions, etc.

#2 Post by PeteM » Sat May 11, 2024 10:23 pm

While there are several sites that list auctions (government, public schools, private businesses, etc.), your ability to effectively participate is likely to be a regional thing. You want to be there to inspect the equipment, carefully pack it up, arrange for shipment, etc. Thus, Craigslist might be your best bet to find regional auctions. Most private auctioneers will post an auction link there.