Interested in a DIC microscope.

Have a problem finding shops that sell specific materials? Ask here. Are you looking for microscope parts? Do you have anything to offer for sale? Note: this is not a section for external companies to advertise their products.
stitchy.mitch

Interested in a DIC microscope.

#1 Post by stitchy.mitch » Mon Jun 10, 2019 10:02 pm

I'm pretty ignorant of the market, which I suppose is not in my best interest to mention, but so it goes. If anyone is looking to sell a scope at a reasonable price, or has any input on what a good DIC scope is I'd appreciate at any sales offer and advice. I'm a Biology undergrad and am looking at ways to improve my micro photographs. The contrast from DIC truly amazes me, and I'd love to make use of it.

Thanks again to this forum who in the past has provided me with so much help and advice on the subject of microscopy.

I'm looking for something with plan or better objectives capable of DIC. Brand is less important to me than functionality, condition and ease of care/finding parts. Ideally its a scope that is trinocular, maybe with a photo adapter and is complete, or easy to fix.

My kindest regards and appreciation as always,

~Mitchell

KurtM

Re: Interested in a DIC microscope.

#2 Post by KurtM » Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:31 am

This guy has several complete "turnkey" stands available for what I think are reasonable prices. I own two DIC stands, an upright and an inverted, the latter came from him and I am delighted with it. I feel comfortable recommending him as a seller who knows his wares, as opposed to one of the (too) many wheeler-dealers who merely try to flip surplus warehouse inventory which is (too) often incomplete, filthy, beat up, etc., etc. And with a name like his, he just has to be good...

https://tinyurl.com/y4c3m7af

("tell him I sent you")
Cheers,
Kurt Maurer
League City, Texas
email: ngc704(at)gmail(dot)com
https://www.flickr.com/photos/67904872@ ... 912223623/

Wes