Hello from Oregon. Questions concerning use of extension tubes.

What equipment do you use? Post pictures and descriptions of your microscope(s) here!
Greg Howald

Hello from Oregon. Questions concerning use of extension tubes.

#1 Post by Greg Howald » Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:48 pm

I have a B660 Amscope microscope. Although it is professional in size, objectives are finite achromatic. I have add a 20mm extension tube under the head of the microscope with an open slot so I can add/remove the polarizing analyzer. I have had good result with it but magnification has changed in value due to the added tube length. It's not 160mm anymore. Tube length is now 180mm. So now for you wizards who have been doing this for a long time...
By what percentage has the magnification increased?
I can't do good science unless I know the answer. Otherwise I'm just playing because I have exceeded industry standards.
I did some math by adding percentages of additional length based upon standard tube length but that is still just a guess on my part. Your thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks. Greg

viktor j nilsson

Re: Hello from Oregon. Questions concerning use of extension tubes.

#2 Post by viktor j nilsson » Sat Oct 24, 2020 1:09 pm

I would be less concerned with magnification, and more concerned about image quality.

Here's an often cited figure:

I believe it's based on how spherical abstain increase with differences in tube length.

With a 20mm difference in TL, you should start seeing pretty severe spherical aberration already with a 20x 0.4 objective. That's why all intermediate tubes intended for finite microscopes have telan lenses that compensate for the increase in TL.

viktor j nilsson

#3 Post by viktor j nilsson » Sat Oct 24, 2020 1:10 pm

Also, the change in magnification depend on the focal length of the objective, so it will differ between your objectives.

Hobbyst46

#4 Post by Hobbyst46 » Sat Oct 24, 2020 1:23 pm

Greg Howald wrote:
Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:48 pm