My microscopes

What equipment do you use? Post pictures and descriptions of your microscope(s) here!
Pat Thielen

My microscopes

#1 Post by Pat Thielen » Mon May 09, 2016 1:12 pm

Here is my very first microscope (well, after the Tasco toy scope my brother and I had as kids). It's a Swift series Eleven Ninety, and it was my good friend throughout high school. My Mom and Dad gave it to me one Christmas and I suggested that we could also get a 20x eyepiece for it to replace the 10x one it came with. The next we went out and got one -- Suddenly my microscope could magnify 860 times with pretty decent resolution. I studied pond life with it and identified quite a few different types of protozoans from the ponds around the house and cabin. While my brother and friends were playing football and baseball in the back yard I had my eye glued to this sitting out on the picnic table. It still works great -- I had it serviced for the first time ever just last year. Not too bad from a microscope that may be older than I am!
Here is my very first microscope (well, after the Tasco toy scope my brother and I had as kids). It's a Swift series Eleven Ninety, and it was my good friend throughout high school. My Mom and Dad gave it to me one Christmas and I suggested that we could also get a 20x eyepiece for it to replace the 10x one it came with. The next we went out and got one -- Suddenly my microscope could magnify 860 times with pretty decent resolution. I studied pond life with it and identified quite a few different types of protozoans from the ponds around the house and cabin. While my brother and friends were playing football and baseball in the back yard I had my eye glued to this sitting out on the picnic table. It still works great -- I had it serviced for the first time ever just last year. Not too bad from a microscope that may be older than I am!
13147582_10154260765504668_8848174664347329561_o.jpg (84.67 KiB) Viewed 5375 times
Attachments