My first microscope, will need help upgrading it

What equipment do you use? Post pictures and descriptions of your microscope(s) here!
Mycotemis

My first microscope, will need help upgrading it

#1 Post by Mycotemis » Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:59 pm

Hello all,

I'm new to microscopy and I waited more than 2 years before buying one because I was waiting for a very versatile one that I could slowly upgrade as my needs evolve.

I mainly want to do mycology and observe/take photos of mushroom cells.

So I got my hands on a Nikon Eclipse 80i that was used for blood analysis. It comes with a very nice camera too. I will probably have to change the condenser since it has darkfield oil but maybe It can be useful. I also have to think what are the next objectives I will put on it. I do not have the budget to put those 2K+ objectives. I want quality and working objectives but at a good price.

I think I had a great deal since it appear to usually be quite expensive. What do you guys think it is worth those days? It is in very nice condition.

Here are the specs:

Camera: Lumenera infinity 3 digital camera

Scope:
  • 80i main body for right side stage handle with substage left handle built-in filter cassette (NCB11, ND6, ND32), diffuser, field diaphragm, fine and coarse focusing with focus stopper
  • 2 CFI Eyepiece 10x/22 with diopter ajustment
  • Y-TF Trinocular tube "F", UW (F. O. V 22mm or 25mm) (2 way: 100/0, 0/100)
  • Y-T TV Tube for C mount adapter A
  • Rectangular mechanichal Stage with right Handle
  • Specimen holder 2L
  • D-LM Precentered lamphouse
  • Condenser Darkfield Oil F/E&X
  • CFI C-N Turret 6 places F/E8,6
  • C-Mount TV adapter A
  • C-Mount TV adapter VM 2.5x
  • CFI FF Achro 10x-A/0.20/5.0mm
  • CFI achromat 100x oil with iris diaphragm N.A. 1.25, W.D. 0.18mm, spring loaded
  • C-CEL expander lens

MichaelG.

Re: My first microscope, will need help upgrading it

#2 Post by MichaelG. » Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:18 pm