My Wild-Nikon-Leitz frankenscope

What equipment do you use? Post pictures and descriptions of your microscope(s) here!
viktor j nilsson

My Wild-Nikon-Leitz frankenscope

#1 Post by viktor j nilsson » Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:00 pm

Hi everyome.

I've been meaning to describe my Wild-Nikon-Leitz frankenscope in greater detail for a while. Here it is:

The base is a Wild M20. I got this stand and a mismatched set of objectives for free when I did my PhD at Umeå University in northern Sweden. It had been used by someone at the department of ecological botany - it has some engravings at the base saying so, and a nice 70s anti-nuclear power sticker. It came with a drawing tube and a Wild Phase condenser.

I'm very fond of the stand. In retrospect, it probably would have been a smarter move to get a Labophot/Optiphot with some objectives to begin with. But I've never had a grand plan for this, and I love the engineering and feel of the old M20. It also looks very nice next to my Wild M5.

This spring I found a Leitz Heine condenser on a local auction site and won it - for $20! It lacks the oil cap and has lost a bit of black paint around the light ring, but works well nonetheless.
I've adapted it for the M20 as follows:
I removed the Leitz dovetail.
A 38mm-m42mm adapter ring turned out to be a tight press fit over the shoulder of the Heine. It can be pried away with a bit of force and will only leave some very small marks.
I took apart a cheap Zeiss Jena 1.2 condenser, removed all optics, and epoxied it to the M42-M38 adapter ring.
The Zeiss condenser has the same outer diameter as the Wild condensers (39.5mm). However, I sanded it down a little bit exposing the brass because it was a little tight.
This allows me to keep almost a full range of movement of the centering mechanism.
Getting the Heine really opened up a lot of possibilities, which greatly inspired me to continue to invest in the frankenscope.