1917 Spencer, Monocular Olympus KHC, Siebert EmoSkop, and Swift M950

What equipment do you use? Post pictures and descriptions of your microscope(s) here!
TieDyeAstronomer

1917 Spencer, Monocular Olympus KHC, Siebert EmoSkop, and Swift M950

#1 Post by TieDyeAstronomer » Mon Aug 26, 2019 1:19 am

Hi everyone!

I'm a microscopy newbie, though I've been using these microscopes on and off for several years. The first microscope I ever used was one which belonged to my grandma, and that my mom used when she was a kid:

It's a Spencer, serial number 35893, which puts it at having been shipped around the beginning of 1917, according to this serial number guide I found: (https://user.xmission.com/~psneeley/Per ... Window.pdf). It has three objectives:

10x/N.A.0.25/16mm
44x/"N.AP.0.83"/4mm
95x/N.A.1.30/1.8mm "HOMOG. IMMER" (oil immersion)!

It's a high powered little thing, a fact I didn't realize until I was checking it out to describe in this post! In fact, it has the highest magnification of any microscope I own, and the only oil immersion objective.

Everything seems to be in working order. From looking at pictures online of similar models, I can tell that the stage clips were removed at some point in the past, and replaced with a mechanical stage. (I had always wondered what those holes in the stage were for!) The light source is a mirror, of course, and I never got the sharpest or brightest views using it back in 2015 with reflected skylight. Well, I popped a little bright LED disk under the condenser a month back and was delighted at how crisp everything suddenly looked! Another thing I find nifty is that the eyepiece slides in and out, to vary from 16x to a tad over 20x, according to the scale engraved on the side.

Example image (unstained blueberry thin section, 44x objective): https://i.imgur.com/u4KJvOz.jpg