My two microscopes

What equipment do you use? Post pictures and descriptions of your microscope(s) here!
kville79

My two microscopes

#1 Post by kville79 » Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:10 pm

Hi,

I'd thought I'd share my scopes. I'm new to the game, so my scopes aren't the best, and I have parts on order to improve them. but here they are

The first is my Selopt petrographic microscope. It's a very basic Korean made student petrographic scope I picked up for about $200 shipped on ebay. It comes with the typical Analyzer, betrand lens, 1/4 wavelength plate, and three objectives: 4x, 10x, and 40x, two eye pieces: 10x and 20x, and a cover and a case. Currently have a LED light source on order to replace the substage mirror.
Pol2.jpg
Pol2.jpg (96.74 KiB) Viewed 4506 times
Pol1.jpg
Pol1.jpg (124.85 KiB) Viewed 4506 times
The second is my Nikon S. Got this for $60 at an estate sale. Classic black enamel paint, binocular head with 10x eyepieces, a 3 objective nose piece with a 10x, 40x, and 100 HI objective. Currently looking at all my options for an illumination source, I have the lamp housing, but no lamp. Haven't given up on finding the original external lamp for this scope... but if that fails I'll get an LED replacement.
Nikon 2.jpg
Nikon 2.jpg (120.05 KiB) Viewed 4506 times
Nikon 1.jpg
Nikon 1.jpg (145.73 KiB) Viewed 4506 times
I'm also trying to piece together a Zeiss Standard WL scope, hopefully that will be sooner than later

microbob3

Re: My two microscopes

#2 Post by microbob3 » Tue Jun 09, 2020 9:03 pm

Nice scopes their. All you need now is a Stereo Microscope. Have fun.

sandnamek

#3 Post by sandnamek » Fri Jun 19, 2020 2:58 am

That Nikon is sexy looking. Good find!

Rossf

#4 Post by Rossf » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:22 pm