Eyepiece for Smartphone Camera Mount

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
bsat6815

Eyepiece for Smartphone Camera Mount

#1 Post by bsat6815 » Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:30 pm

Hi all,

I am just getting started with a Swift SW380T trinocular compound scope and Swift SPA-E28 smartphone adapter. I kinda didn't realize when I ordered that I also needed an eyepiece to mount on the trinocular eyepiece adapter, in addition to the smartphone adapter to enable use of my smartphone on the trinocular port. I am using the WF10x (DIN 18 mm) stereo eyepieces to begin with, given that I am looking at large specimens. So upon discovering that the smartphone setup required an eyepiece, I attempted to use one of the two WF25x eyepieces that also came with the scope for the smartphone setup. I quickly learned that the 25x eyepiece creates an image field on the smartphone that is way too small to be useful. So I had to temporarily steal one of the x10 eyepieces from the binocular ports for the trinocular port; that creates a correctly-sized image field on the smartphone (Samsung Galaxy S5).

So, it appears that I will need to order an eyepiece for the smartphone camera setup. Is there some x10 eyepiece that would be better than others for this purpose? The eyepiece barrels for this scope mic out at just over 23 mm o.d.

The Galaxy S5 smartphone appears not to be a great fit for this application. Samsung cheapened out on this model by choosing a "camera on the processor SoC" design instead of separate camera silicon. The result is almost complete lack of manual control of basic functions such as focus. I also have an old original Samsung Galaxy phone that I might try. I would appreciate any other suggestions for camera solutions with this setup. The USB microscope sensors seem to be quite expensive relative to the available resolution.