...awakening a Leitz SM microscope...

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
tonikon

...awakening a Leitz SM microscope...

#1 Post by tonikon » Sun Nov 29, 2020 10:19 am

Hello to all forum friends,

This is my first post and my legs are shaking a little :D
Some years ago, I bought a second-hand Leitz SM microscope (black enamel series) paired with Apo objectives, periplan eyepieces, Berek condenser and trinocular head. I bought it because it is a very fascinating tool (and because it was a really good occasion...), but now I want to begin to use it. Infact, I have a personal photographic project about "life in a drop of water" and I have to photograph (mostly in brightfield microscopy) a lot of living specimens.

I have spent a lot of time taking high magnification pics in reflected light (2x-20x with stacking softwares and automated macro rails), but I'm a real newbie in photography with compound microscopes.

I have already adapted a led illuminating system (a white Cree led hidden inside an old microscope illuminator) but I would like to ask you if my setup is really "competitive" with much more modern infinity microscopes in terms of image quality (risolution, optical aberrations...). Conversely, I'm not worried about speed and easiness of use. I have to spend a lot of time taking photos of a lot of specimen and I'd like to be sure to start with the right tool. I know that illuminating technics, pos-production and quality of sensors are determinant, but I'm afraid that that general optic quality of my tool should be the real limiting factor.

Moreover, it would be nice if someone can help me to add some new part (phase contrast condenser and objective, darkfield condenser...) to extend the operativity of my setup for living specimens.
In order to give more information about my setup, this is the objective list:

- Leitz SM with Trinocular head
- Berek condenser