Stereo microscope for aquatic insects, what to buy?

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
jov8630

Stereo microscope for aquatic insects, what to buy?

#1 Post by jov8630 » Thu Apr 28, 2022 7:15 pm

Hi all, I'm new to the forum and hope to find some help with picking the right microscope. I'm looking for one to study benthic fauna, mainly to identify the individuals that I'm able to collect here in Finland :) What I would need from a microscope is magnification up at least to x65, enough work space >100 mm, top and bottom lighting. My budget is definitely max at 1000 € (the less the better as I'm still a student at a uni).

https://amscope.de/collections/zoom-pow ... d9b6&_ss=r
https://amscope.de/collections/stereo-m ... 7e95&_ss=r

I'm thinking to pick either one of these scopes. I know that I would need to get x20 objectives for the first one and most probably a proper LED ring for it as well. Amscope customer service suggested that I could consider this latter option as well. I just can't see what is the difference between these two (except the price and magnification) and I'm looking to get any opinions from you guys. I've tried to look for a second hand scope as well for a year, but can't find one. Thanks in advance :)

dtsh

Re: Stereo microscope for aquatic insects, what to buy?

#2 Post by dtsh » Thu Apr 28, 2022 7:21 pm

I'm not familiar with what's available in the EU, but a gently used system can often get you a lot more features and performance for the money spent.
I've seen others share the URLs to a few resellers of such equipment, but I didn't make note of it as it's out of my area. Perhaps someone will be kind enough to provide a few such and add to your options.
There's also the buy/sell sub forum here which I've had good luck with.

Alexander

#3 Post by Alexander » Thu Apr 28, 2022 7:55 pm

Both will do the job. Considering your budget a used Zeiss Stemi 305 is within reach.

PeteM