What is the diference beetween a Splan Apo and Neo Splan NIC??

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Andruşca

What is the diference beetween a Splan Apo and Neo Splan NIC??

#1 Post by Andruşca » Tue Jan 02, 2024 7:36 pm

Hi guys,

I'm new to microscopy (I got an Olympus BH2-BHS) and after some research, I found that the best image quality you will achieve is with SPlan Apo's.
But recently I discovered the Neo Splan ( the ones labelled with NIC on the barrel) and after reading about it, the most conclusive I found about these objectives ( ...they offer superior optical performance...).
I know that the standard Splan Apo fits on my BH2 and that a Neo Splan NIC (has 26mm dim and requires the prisms).

Ignoring the accessories required that you need to use the objectives and prices, which one will give you a better image quality a SPlan Apo or a Neo Splan NIC?
Also, on the Neo Splan NIC, I read that they are used for metallurgy. Can they be used for pond life observations or only for metallurgy?

Regards,
Andrie

Scarodactyl

Re: What is the diference beetween a Splan Apo and Neo Splan NIC??

#2 Post by Scarodactyl » Tue Jan 02, 2024 7:57 pm

The neo splans are meant for looking at opaque subjects with nothing transparent on top of them. That matters less at lower magnifications, but at higher magnifications you will get bad results looking at pond life.
In terms of optical quality, when set up with the correct optics (an extra lens is needed compared with normal finite objectives from the series) they have very good color correction and a wide field, similar to mplanfl fluorites in Olympus's next series.

deBult

#3 Post by deBult » Wed Jan 03, 2024 6:40 pm

I found that the best image quality you will achieve is with SPlan Apo's.
Please be informed the “front lens - to - sample” distance of the Olympus SPlanApo series is (very) short (starting with the 20*), so a bit risky in beginners hands.