Which image processing software?

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Gasman

Which image processing software?

#1 Post by Gasman » Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:17 pm

Hi guys
Been looking at some image processing tutorials and one microscopy guy was saying how good Photoimpact was and I was wondering which software others use?. In my other life as an astronomer I occasionally use Pixinsight but not sure how microscopic images would process with this as I'm no expert with Pixinsight which does have quite a learning curve.
Regards
Steve

billben74

Re: Which image processing software?

#2 Post by billben74 » Sun Apr 17, 2016 8:26 pm

What sort of image processing do you want to do?
I use zerine stacker for stacking (it costs about $75) , Image composite editor for stitching (free) and GIMP 2.8 (free) for "photoshopping".

I know that forum members use a variety of software tools.
There are threads on stacking
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=2500

and stitching
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=2664

Gasman

#3 Post by Gasman » Sun Apr 17, 2016 9:10 pm

I suppose software that would bring out the fine detail. I have apps for stacking etc . The microscopy version of Imagej ' Fiji' I think its called gets good recommendations too.
Steve

JimT

#4 Post by JimT » Sun Apr 17, 2016 10:47 pm

I use a Canon DSLR, take the images in RAW format, do the initial processing in Coral After Shot Pro, and the final processing in Photoshop. If I do any stacking (I should say when I do stacking since it is almost all the time) I use Combine ZP which is free and which I am most familiar with.

I did a comparison between Combine ZP and Picolay (Also free and also very good) several months ago. I would recommend either one for stacking.

JimT

Gasman

#5 Post by Gasman » Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:56 am

Thanks for that Jim. Aftershot pro2 seems to get a lot of excellent reviews, think I'll give the trial a test!
Regards
Steve

KurtM

#6 Post by KurtM » Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:54 am