Oil Immersion

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Pat Thielen

Oil Immersion

#1 Post by Pat Thielen » Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:12 am

Right -- Here is a very newbie question. Don't laugh unless you absolutely have to. And if you do, have a nice beer to go along with it!

Awhile ago I got a new microscope and it came with an oil immersion lens... :o My problem is I have no real idea on how to use it as I've never used one before. A friend of mine was going to come over to show me some of this stuff but she just hasn't had the time. So, I've avoided using it as I've been rather frightened of my ignorance of such things. Anyway, now I need to use it -- I bought a really nice slide of Bacillus anthracis that I'd love to be able to see and photograph clearly.

So, my question is how do I properly use an oil immersion lens? I do have the oil, and I know I put a drop on the slide and swing the objective into it, but after that I have little knowledge. And, most importantly, how do I properly clean the objective and the slide when I'm done?

Thanks for any help any of you may be able to provide. And remember: When drinking your beer try not to blow any out through your nose. It can be most uncomfortable!
Pat Thielen
Motic BA310, C & A Scientific Premiere SMZ-07, Swift Eleven-Ninety, Swift FM-31, Bausch & Lomb VM349, Olympus CHA
Nikon d810

lorez

Re: Oil Immersion

#2 Post by lorez » Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:35 am

I'm too lazy to type, but I did find a pretty good (one of 1,000, probably) link.

flinnsci.com/teacher-resources/biology/frequently-aske...

Don't feel bad about asking a newbie question. When I was once working at a local university the prof asked one of the students to get the microscope ready to use with immersion oil. The student placed a generous drop of oil on the eyepiece.

lorez

zzffnn

#3 Post by zzffnn » Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:45 am