Color filters

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
ahpuchplayer

Color filters

#1 Post by ahpuchplayer » Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:43 am

Hello! I have a green color filter that comes with the Omax M837L and I was wondering, is it useful to have many different filters? If so what color should I buy?

Understand that im a newbie in the microscopy world hehehe :mrgreen: I have many questions regarding my scope if anyone is willing to help :oops:
OMAX M837L

lorez

Re: Color filters

#2 Post by lorez » Tue Nov 29, 2016 4:33 am

is it useful to have many different filters? If so what color should I buy?
I think color filters are a matter of preference with a little bit of attention to what you are trying to accomplish.

Most of the Chinese microscopes are equipped with the green filter (and there is quite a bit of variety among the variety of models and manufacturers) because the green wave length is most conducive to effective viewing.

The Rheinberg filters are quite popular among hobbyists and are available from a variety of sources and can also be made at home.

I am partial to the daylight blue because it buffers the yellow cast of the incandescent and halogen bulbs, but as I mentioned, I think any color is OK.

ahpuchplayer

#3 Post by ahpuchplayer » Tue Nov 29, 2016 5:36 am

Oh ok now I understand its to filter (obvious) ahahah should I be worried about it being chinese? Its a omax its korean isnt it? Is it considered a cheap microscope brand? :mrgreen:
OMAX M837L

Drew

#4 Post by Drew » Fri Dec 02, 2016 9:33 pm

player,