Newbie questions

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Buginarug

Newbie questions

#1 Post by Buginarug » Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:10 am

I am a newcomer to microscopes, other than that I've been using a 10x Belomo loupe for a couple years to explore the smaller things. I am looking for a good starter microscope for the following:
  • exploring the natural world, things like pond water, soil, tissues, whatever catches my fancy
  • examining rock samples (phase stuff might be bought later)
  • really just having fun
  • photography/time-lapse
  • dark field (DF) is a must
  • 1600x a minimum for max magnification
I do not have a clear budget, but I think $300ish is a ceiling, though that doesn't mean I want something that's $299 necessarily, if I can get something 80% as good for $150, say.

I have a few questions (I will reference AmScope solely just to keep things simple and since it's regularly mentioned for starters):
  1. what is the qualitative difference between a dedicated DF microscope, like the B340A-DK, and a non-DF scope like the T490A with a DF hack filter added in?
  2. I hear the T490B specifically mentioned a lot, but what are the qualitative differences between that and, say, the B120B. Both are 40x-1600x binocular compound scopes with a variety of objectives. I understand the trinocular on the T490B is a major difference. But is the 50% price hike worth the oft-mentioned T490 series over the lowly B120s?
  3. Is there a reason to go with a 40-1600x scope when there's a -2000x or -2500x scope of the same model for nearly the same price? Like the B120A, B, and C? Why not get the most magnifying power at the high end?
  4. Since I want to look a lot at live microorganisms, an LED is fairly mandated, no?
Lastly, any good field guides/books on organisms both -zoa and -phyto? Books preferably, I like something in print with lots of pictures.

Thanks

75RR

Re: Newbie questions