New microscope troubleshooting

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
RNoelkeND

New microscope troubleshooting

#1 Post by RNoelkeND » Sun Jan 07, 2018 2:19 am

Hi there, I am a student in Naturopathic medical school and I recently purchased a microscope with the intent of viewing live blood cells in both phase contrast and darkfield. I purchased this scope:

http://www.microscopenet.com/omax-40x25 ... 11477.html

I was advised by a rep at microscope.net that this unit would be able to easily switch back and forth between dry darkfield and phase.

I got it all set up and prepared a slide of live blood. I have been able to see the specimen with a 4X/0.10 objective and a Plan PH10x/0.25 objective. However when I try to achieve a higher magnification using the Plan PH40x/0.65 objective I am not having any luck. I begin with the stage raised as close as possible and then back it down as slowly as possible while also trying the fine tuning knob along the way. I have done this under both eyepieces (10X and 25X) and have tried all of the different settings on the phase turret. I am not able to see anything however.

I would post pics but alas I am also having trouble getting the camera to work. I have confirmed that the camera itself is functioning because when I take it off of the scope and wave my hand over it I can see the image change on the screen.

If anyone has any ideas as to why I can only see things under 4X and 10X or why the camera isn't picking up anything I'd love to hear.

Thanks

Rob

MicroBob

Re: New microscope troubleshooting

#2 Post by MicroBob » Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:54 am

Hi Rob,
when you use the 40x objective - don't you get a sharp picture or can't you see any light?