pros / cons of this Olympus ??

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
jimur

pros / cons of this Olympus ??

#1 Post by jimur » Tue Jul 24, 2018 10:47 am

1-IMG_2814.jpg
1-IMG_2814.jpg (185.51 KiB) Viewed 5173 times
As a newbie, I currently use a basic Leitz SM-LUX (grey mdl.) with a trinocular head and a couple of APO objectives. My main interest is viewing pond water organisms and of course attempting to incorporate my very meager and limited photography skills. I have the opportunity to purchase this Olympus IM microscope locally for what seems a very reasonable price of $75 although I have no knowledge what so ever of inverted microscopes. All controls and light works yet it has only one objective, an Olympus of unknown power. I can't even recognize a condenser in the photo. I'm wondering if my funds might be better served adding accessories to my SM-LUX or purchasing a stereo microscope. I don't want to spend $ after $ just to make the Olympus usable and equal to the ability of what I have. (which seems mostly a desire to hunt microbes) Can you guys help me? lol
"You're never too old to have a happy childhood"
Leitz Wetzlar SM-LUX
Olympus IM
Canon 450D

75RR

Re: pros / cons of this Olympus ??

#2 Post by 75RR » Tue Jul 24, 2018 11:45 am

Does the current owner have any additional parts for it?

Here is a manual and a brochure:
http://www.alanwood.net/downloads/olymp ... manual.pdf
http://www.alanwood.net/downloads/olymp ... ochure.pdf

Perhaps you can attempt to source the missing bits before you buy - check out availability and price.
Zeiss Standard WL (somewhat fashion challenged) & Wild M8
Olympus E-P2 (Micro Four Thirds Camera)

wporter

#3 Post by wporter » Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:26 pm