First microscope for fun and imaging.

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Sunrune

First microscope for fun and imaging.

#1 Post by Sunrune » Sun Mar 08, 2015 3:57 am

Hello all.

After much reading I am ready to buy my first 'real' microscope and am interested in what other more experienced microscopists have to say.

As for some background: I have a few years experience with macro photography - lenses include a Canon MPE65 and 100mm macro, and some infinity objectives including Nikons and Mitutoyos that I use with DSLRs. After going smaller and smaller I feel a need for a decent microscope for fun and imaging. I am fascinated by tiny critters/structures and also want to take some decent photos.

However as I am a microscope noob I don't really know what to look for in a scope. The wisdom as I read it seems to be buy a used one from the "big four" - and the prices are much lower than for new equipment. However it seems difficult to upgrade older scopes as parts can be hard to get. So basically I'd like to decide what contrast techniques the microscope should have and buy it ready to go. So ...

Brightfield/darkfield would be OK to start with but I think I'd quickly yearn for something more advanced, especially for imaging. Is DIC worth it? Although much more expensive than phase contrast the images seem better and it opens up some polarization methods. Also is fluorescence best avoided by the inexperienced?

Any advice will be appreciated.

gekko

Re: First microscope for fun and imaging.

#2 Post by gekko » Sun Mar 08, 2015 8:56 am

Hello Sunrune,