Leica Galen III

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Aatjebanaantje

Leica Galen III

#1 Post by Aatjebanaantje » Tue Oct 09, 2018 7:16 pm

I have bought a cheap second hand Leica Galen III microscope. However, the microscope came without a condenser or oculars. I measured the tube for the oculars and it's 23 mm inner diameter. I also noticed that 3 objectives are phase contrast objectives, they have a small ring inside.
So here are my questions:
What type of ocular do I need to buy for this microscope? I found loads and loads of oculars online but I don't know which one will fit. The oculars from my stereo microscope don't fit.
Do I need a phase contrast condenser or can I just get a normal condenser? Maybe do the trick with the 3D-glasses? Are the condensers interchangeable between models/brands?
I thought I knew a thing or two about microscopes but it seems i'm a total noob :)

Hobbyst46

Re: Leica Galen III

#2 Post by Hobbyst46 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:03 pm

You definitely need a phase condenser in order to get phase contrast images. The phase condenser includes the phase stops for three phases as well as brightfield with iris diaphragm. I think that many years ago, the Galen microscope was a Cambridge Instruments model, made in China.

wstenberg

#3 Post by wstenberg » Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:01 pm

23 mm sounds like the standard size oculars. There are different kinds, but I would just see what you can find and try it out. I've recently purchased a set of the cheap Chinese 10x oculars on EBay. They are OK; good enough to get started.

Like was previously mentioned, you'll need a phase contrast condenser to do phase contrast, but you can probably do brightfield with those objectives in the meantime. For now, try looking at things without a condenser while you're trying to locate one. At least at low magnifications it will be ok. It will just get better and better as you add the proper parts.