Cleaning potential alcohol droplet off of objective lenses Advice + Cleaning eyepiece Advice

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
AlessioCefa2001

Cleaning potential alcohol droplet off of objective lenses Advice + Cleaning eyepiece Advice

#1 Post by AlessioCefa2001 » Sun Jun 02, 2019 8:20 pm

Hi all really hoping for any help as I'm a beginner.

My microscope is a Apex Practitioner, The user manual provides very little help on this.

Yesterday Night
So I messed up by somehow getting alcohol (White spirit specifically, it's bad I know, I was adding some to the side of the cover slip with tweezers to a pond water sample to see it's effects) on the exposed top of the cover slip, so that when I used the 10X and 40X objective I believe I got a tiny amount on the objective's lenses accidentally.

As realisation dawned on me (Image quality seemed off, more on that later), I will admit I panicked and put my eye far too close to the eyepiece in order to see the effects (more on that later) caused by the accident, so that I clearly smudged up the eyepiece lens with dust and eyelashes etc..

In a downward spiral of more worse decisions I decided to use my telescope lens pen on the eyepiece (Only the brush) so I might have made it worse.

One day has passed now (Today)
As it stands now, image quality with the 10x and 40x objective is good but I'm sure it's off (As I decrease the aperture diaphragm diameter a translucent-ish smudge is semi-visible).

I unscrewed the 2 objective lenses and looked at each one's lens with a high power magnifying glass, then I obviously screwed them back in place.

The results: Nothing, I couldn't see any droplets.

When I take the eyepiece out with the 10x objective and look down the tube at a set distance and tilt my head side to side I see a smudge in the centre. I believe this is on the objective?

My conclusion so far...