Leitz SM-LUX-POL

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
jb89

Leitz SM-LUX-POL

#1 Post by jb89 » Fri Jun 21, 2019 9:24 am

Hi everyone!

I am a geology student looking to purchase a microscope for my own studies outside of the classroom.
This is a big investment for me and I have spent a long time looking around but still don't know exactly what I need.

For my work I need:
-A rotating stage
-polarizing
-Bertrand lens
-compensator (1/4 lambda) ( The part number is listed in the manual as 17847-550) but I can't find one for sale, are these generally universal?
-approximately $1500 or less
- I think I have this terminology incorrect but 10x, 20x(ish) and 40(ish) objectives

I am not sure if these microscopes are missing parts or pieces that would require me to buy additional items(aside from the compensator which I can see is not present)
If I get a trinocular version with the hopes of eventually taking pictures of my thin sections, would I need a special cover for the trinocular tube when it's not in use?

These are two that I have been looking at, I would prefer the trinocular but it hasn't been serviced or tested thoroughly so I don't know if that's a fair price.
The trinocular also has a manual X/Y stage which I am not familiar with and I'm not sure if it would be useful or burdensome in my field.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Leitz-SM-LUX-P ... Sw7KhchZdN
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Leitz-SM-LUX-P ... Swm41c-XSP

I was just hoping for some general advice and feedback, even if this isn't a geology centric forum it seems like you guys are quite the experts!
Thank you in advance!

The microscope that I normally use in class is a monocular Meiji 9000 and it's ok but it's limitations are apparent very quickly, would this be a step up from that?

Also, some of these microscopes have warranty periods(often very short), is there a flowchart or guide for going through and verifying that everything is operating as it should?