Newbie with information overload looking for first microscope

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
hatchna

Newbie with information overload looking for first microscope

#1 Post by hatchna » Thu Oct 03, 2019 7:17 pm

I need a bit of help choosing a first time microscope.

I'll admit front up that I'm a microscopy newbie with little experience. I have a background in astronomy, and have a good SCT telescope I use often for astronomical viewing.

My wife and I home school our children, and being more of the science nerd between the two of us, teaching my children science falls mainly onto me. My oldest child is nearing upper elementary school age now, and we are looking to move beyond basic magnification and into more advanced microscopy. Our course work for this year will involve viewing various plants at the cellular level, and also trying to view living objects in water and such among other areas. For these purposes, I'm looking for a compound microscope, rather than a stereo scope, though I'll likely get a stereo scope at some point as well.

I've been scouring the internet and this forum looking at microscopes, and learning all I can about he various brands, features and such that are out there. In the end, I've developed information overload, and I'm unable to make a decision. I almost went for an Amscope, but something inside held me back. I like to make sure I'm buying quality hardware. I have difficulty with purchases when there's the possibility of buyers remorse getting something that is of poor quality, etc. I certainly cannot afford the most expensive scopes, and I would say right now my budget is about $700-$800 to start with. Ideally, I'd like something that will last as my children grow and move through the high school years. Something that can expand with our needs would be ideal.

Being a scientific mind myself, I also look at this as a new hobby for myself. One my kids and I can enjoy together.