AO 1036A Touch-Up Paint?

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Docgene888

AO 1036A Touch-Up Paint?

#1 Post by Docgene888 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:46 pm

Hi,

I am relatively new to the forum having posted for the first time in the past week in the introduction and camera sections. I am a nearly-retired physician and am returning to the photomicroscopy hobby after a decades-long absence and recently acquired six microscopes after prevailing in a federal government auction (www.GSAAuctions.gov). The lot consisted of four like-new Olympus scopes (2 CX31s and 2 SZ61TR-LEDs) and two older AO models. The latter two of those six former VA hospital microscopes are a 1036A and the other a 110 Microstar Dual Head (consultant) model with a 40x phase contrast objective/condenser. The 1036A came without a transformer although I was able to purchase one for $35 on ebay but it came with a less-than-gently used 1036A microscope. Although it appears from the photos to have a phase condenser, it also appears that there are chips in the paint near the condenser. It arrives in the mail tomorrow so I will know more then. I was hoping to be able to either rebuild the microscope as a project to start a collection or perhaps fixing it up for gifting to friends/family.

Does anyone know of a source for touch-up paint for that model AO? I searched the user.mission website without luck. If there is no “commercially” available source, does anyone have an alternative suggestion (or even a formula) to mix up a batch to (closely) match the original grey (what I presume to be epoxy) coating?

Thanks In advance!

Best,

Gene
Olympus CX31
Olympus SZ61TR-LED
AmScope T490B-LED
AmScope SM-2TZ-LED
AO 110 MicroStar Dual Head
Canon EOS 40D

apochronaut

Re: AO 1036A Touch-Up Paint?

#2 Post by apochronaut » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:56 pm