Counterfeit detection

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
realgoods

Counterfeit detection

#1 Post by realgoods » Tue Oct 22, 2019 9:41 am

I’m assembling a proof of concept anti-counterfeiting system involving microscopy. Imagine there exists a system which compares digital images of objects (currency, jewelry, etc) against known counterfeit and authentic examples and provides a probability of authenticity.

I have very little experience with microscopy (background is in software) but my hunch is there are surface microscopic differences (due to differences in the manufacturing process) between authentic and counterfeit objects.

What qualities should I be looking for in a microscope setup to consistently image the surfaces of such objects? I know it must support USB-C so it can be connected to a device as a webcam (video). The system need not record the video in case that matters. Per Microbe Hunter’s insightful videos, I‘ve learned that magnification is mostly market speak and other criteria are what really matters.

Thanks in advance!

Scarodactyl

Re: Counterfeit detection

#2 Post by Scarodactyl » Tue Oct 22, 2019 3:43 pm

Most dslrs will connect via usb as well, and you will get more bang for your buck in many cases.
It would help to know how you want to illuminte the subject (thus what kind of lighting you need), and what field or fields of view you need.

An indistrial zoom lens like a navitar, optem, unitron, or monozoom 7 would probably be a good starting point though. They have a long working distance and a range of magnifications. They will directly accept a c mount microscope camera, or sometimes you can get a dslr adapter though they are kind of rare. And systems can often be had very affordably.

Knowing your approximate budget would help too.

PeteM

#3 Post by PeteM » Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:11 pm