Is this Leitz SM LUX any good?

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Katie2020

Is this Leitz SM LUX any good?

#1 Post by Katie2020 » Mon Jun 29, 2020 4:02 pm

I know everyone here is probably fed up of 'wHaT mIcRoScOpE sHoULd i gEt" questions, so im sorry. About me, im a beginner (hopefully), but im about to start a biology degree (hopefully) and ive had experience with microscopes in the past, so I know a fair amount about the biology aspect and a bit about how microscopes work etc. Ive also been doing a lot of research about microscope features since i started looking for one, so i understand a bit more vocabulary than i did originally. I'm just looking to do stuff as a hobby, as an undergrad i wont have a lot of free access to the labs and they definitely won't appreciate me messing up all their million pound lab equipment just to look at pond water.
Im looking for a microscope under £250 that has a fairly good resolution, id ideally like to see some bacteria (i know this can be hard and unexciting though) but also other stuff. I honestly don't care about monocular vs binocular vs Trinocular, ive used all before and am happy enough with monocular. Don't mind about LED or halogen, or how easy/fiddly something is, im just frugal haha. The main thing im looking for is resolution and being able to see more detail.

Ive narrowed down two choices for my first microscope. Ive found a few Swift Sw380s and 350s for £200 online, which I have seen recommended as a beginners scope, so I think its a safe choice. I also like the idea of it being modern, mass-produced and fairly standardised, which will make getting accessories and stuff easier.