Flame Tests

Posts that are not microscopy-related should be placed here.
billbillt

Flame Tests

#1 Post by billbillt » Mon Nov 12, 2018 4:00 pm

I had forgotten about this simple test that is lots of fun... Great for young budding chemists to do and learn...

How to Do Flame Tests for Qualitative Analysis..

https://www.thoughtco.com/perform-and-i ... =bouncex15

BillT

Bryan

Re: Flame Tests

#2 Post by Bryan » Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:08 pm

I work in the hazardous waste cleanup industry, we used to test oil with what is called the Beilstein, or copper wire test. It's very similar to the test described in your link but it was commonly used to test for chlorinated compounds in oil like PCB's. If the oil was chlorinated it would emit a green flame. It's not used much anymore because of the toxic chemicals that are released when you burn chlorinated oil, plus there are now better methods like chemical test kits.

MicroBob

#3 Post by MicroBob » Mon Nov 12, 2018 6:41 pm

PeteM

#4 Post by PeteM » Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:02 am

I learned about flame tests around fifth or sixth grade -- and started testing chemicals surplused (to me!) from the high school chem lab in a Bunsen burner. Also learned (and haven't forgotten) it might not be a good idea to stick a still-somewhat-warm nichrome wire into a jar of powdered benzoyl peroxide . .

billbillt

#5 Post by billbillt » Tue Nov 13, 2018 7:59 am

PeteM wrote:I learned about flame tests around fifth or sixth grade -- and started testing chemicals surplused (to me!) from the high school chem lab in a Bunsen burner. Also learned (and haven't forgotten) it might not be a good idea to stick a still-somewhat-warm nichrome wire into a jar of powdered benzoyl peroxide . .
This was the reason I posted it... It is a good exercise to stimulate young minds...

billbillt

#6 Post by billbillt » Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:06 am

Here is another little gem most will remember:

The Golden Book of Chemistry Experiments