Phase Contrast Question

Here you can discuss different microscopic techniques and illumination methods, such as Brightfield, Darkfield, Phase Contrast, DIC, Oblique illumination, etc.
Red_Green

Phase Contrast Question

#1 Post by Red_Green » Sun Feb 21, 2021 3:45 pm

G'day. I have a 30% off coupon for Amscope and was thinking of either upgrading to plan objectives (4x, 10x, 20x, and 40x) or getting the phase contrast kit.

I was wondering with phase contrast. I really hate the look of the halos I see in pictures taken with phase. Is there anyway to dial down the amount of halo you get with phase or at least anyway to dial them down in post processing of images taken?

Or should I just stick to upgrading to plan objectives?

Every time I buy something from Amscope I get a 15% off coupon. Which means if I buy 4 objectives I will end up with more coupons which will be 60% off which will then just make me want to buy more things.

Greg Howald

Re: Phase Contrast Question

#2 Post by Greg Howald » Sun Feb 21, 2021 4:08 pm

At lower magnification levels I have read on the forum that plan objectives don't seem to make a great difference in what is seen in your scope. I have them in 4, 10, and 40x. I don't see much difference and seldom use them. There are differences of course and that can be measured. Whether you can detect much difference with the limitations of human vision is another matter and must be based upon what is personally observed.
I also don't think you can avoid halos in phase contrast.
If it were my money I would go with phase contrast mounted on a turret, but that's just my opinion based solely upon preference.
Greg

PeteM

#3 Post by PeteM » Sun Feb 21, 2021 4:44 pm

Only the central vision of our eyes is sharp. Our brains make up a sharp image through a variety of techniques (scanning the image with eye movements, continuously focusing, etc.). So a regular achromat objective can look pretty good at low magnification.