Nikon Labophot DIC equipment requirements. Noob alert. ELI5

Here you can discuss different microscopic techniques and illumination methods, such as Brightfield, Darkfield, Phase Contrast, DIC, Oblique illumination, etc.
fibreoptix

Nikon Labophot DIC equipment requirements. Noob alert. ELI5

#1 Post by fibreoptix » Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:05 pm

Hello I have a Nikon Labophot. Got it at a good price even through I'm missing the optical tube that came with the scope. I'm a new to the whole microscopy thing and learning about the different lighting techniques as a photographer is interesting. DIC has struck me as the pinnacle of microscopy in terms of photography.

Now I'm not planning to add on a DIC system. If I had that money I'd just buy a DIC ready scope out right. However I am curious on what parts I would need to convert my scope into a DIC. Like I said I'm new to it all.

So from top to bottom from what I am beginning to understand. (I do not know the technical names for parts)

1. There needs to be a lighting instrument (DIC specified?) with a prism below the eyepiece assembly and above the objective turret?

2. There needs to be a DIC turret with prism sliders in each slot?

3. The objectives need to be PLAN or are there DIC specific obj's?

4. Condenser needs to have a DIC insert? I do not know what is on that insert...another prism?

Again total noob right now. Also is it possible to have both Phase Contrast and DIC on the same scope?
I know they are 2 different contrast techniques, so probably not, but just want to be sure. Again total noob.

While I'm here, as someone who is interested in video microscopy what other techniques or tools can be used to create wow photography.

Craig Smith is an award winning photographer. He uses a Zeiss Universal with DIC.... example here

[youtube] https://youtu.be/W68XfPVqAEE [/youtube]