Vertical Illuminator for Nikon Labophot question

Here you can discuss different microscopic techniques and illumination methods, such as Brightfield, Darkfield, Phase Contrast, DIC, Oblique illumination, etc.
fibreoptix

Vertical Illuminator for Nikon Labophot question

#1 Post by fibreoptix » Thu Aug 02, 2018 2:02 am

So I'm new to all this. I found a vertical illuminator for a good price. However now I'm noticing vertical illuminators are hooked up to transformers or power supplies. Why? Is it required?

PeteM

Re: Vertical Illuminator for Nikon Labophot question

#2 Post by PeteM » Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:40 am

Only if you want it to light up . . . :)

Particularly for Optiphot, there were many variations on power on epi illuminator. Some used external power supplies. Some used a power outlet connecting to the base. I doubt your Labophot has a power outlet in the base intended to be used with a vertical illuminator, but worth a check. Up to 20 watts, you could adapt something. More likely your illuminator is designed for a 50 watt bulb.

You could buy a bright LED flashlight and adapt it to fit the position of the filament in yours and have a self-contained unit, if that's what you want. Otherwise, plenty of cheap power supplies available.

Your epi adapter should also have a tube lens as well as a half-mirror in it, to adapt it to 160mm objectives. Otherwise, it is intended for a longer objective tube length, perhaps the Nikon 210mm (if I recall) BF (bright field)/DF
(dark field) objectives.

fibreoptix

#3 Post by fibreoptix » Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:28 am

This is the one. LOL I thought I could just plug it into the wall. Now I need a power supply.

https://www.picclickimg.com/d/l400/pict ... e-Part.jpg

fibreoptix

#4 Post by fibreoptix » Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:18 am

PeteM wrote:Only if you want it to light up . . . :)