The TOTAL Newb from California would be ME!

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
Bemoc

The TOTAL Newb from California would be ME!

#1 Post by Bemoc » Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:57 pm

Hello! My name is Jia, and I've been fringing here for a very long time. It CAN be nerve-wracking for an actual newb to hear intros like: Hi, I've never done this, I just work with zooplankton and purplish mold spores, have for three decades, all microscopically... sheesh. However, I was a scientist full-time from age nine until 22, when a Chem professor in college burst my Madame Curie bubble. I became an artist instead - not so different really. Now, I am retired, if "retired artist" is not an oxymoron, and do little else with my time now than pursue great microscopes, the few I might know what to do with, and that do not come in kits. I never said "Hello!" here before, because I felt certain that I would soon learn enough about diatom spearing and DICphots and of course I'd need to know how to collinate and all first, but in the meanwhile my questions just grow in every way, and my microscope collection is getting ridiculous. I'll save that for the "What microscope do you use?" department - which I am avoiding because I know there is a space limit and I'd hate to use it all up in my intro. In addition to buying and dismantling (read: "Improving") hot microscopes, I torture Thinkpads of bygone days similarly, I draw or cartoon the people around me every day, and lessee, I dream of the day when I will make my own perfect Leicapad. Or maybe Thinkkon....

Javier

Re: The TOTAL Newb from California would be ME!

#2 Post by Javier » Sat Oct 03, 2020 9:10 pm

Hi Jia,

Good to hear from you. I'm a total newbie, although I have been working with zooplankton and purplish mold spores for three decades, all microscopically...

Just kidding, I know nothing... :lol:

Javier.

PeteM

#3 Post by PeteM » Sun Oct 04, 2020 12:32 am