Introducing myself

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
Quantrip

Introducing myself

#1 Post by Quantrip » Mon Dec 07, 2020 5:12 pm

hello, my name is Tony and my son Luis who is 6, is interested in science. by the age of 4 he could real of 10 elements of the periodic table. "proud dad"
last christmas though he was given a a £30 microscope which was a waste of my hard earned cash, it was poop.
i would never recommend any of the so could cheap ones from smith toy store.
So, this year i went ahead and bought a Swift Compound Microscope SW200DL for his christmas this year.
i hope that you kind folks will help in developing his skills to becoming a scientist.
He has made it quite clear, this is what he wants to do and i have no experience in how to develop his skills.
i would be very grateful for any help in this field.
But of course he doesn't know yet :)

thank you and kind regards
Tony

TonyT

Re: Introducing myself

#2 Post by TonyT » Mon Dec 07, 2020 8:41 pm

A couple of books here I believe would be worth having:
http://www.microscopy-uk.org.uk/index.h ... _body.html
New Brunswick
Canada

PeteM

#3 Post by PeteM » Mon Dec 07, 2020 8:46 pm

Welcome Tony. The usual recommendation for a younger child is to start with a stereo microscope. That way you and your son can easily gather specimens and not have to prepare them (cut them super thin and preserve them under a cover slip) on slides. A stereo scope is great if you do something together (walks, camping, hobbies) and find things to see - and learn more of them.

I mention this because you might still be able to return the Christmas present compound scope and get an equivalent stereo microscope to start?

In any case, and either way, people here will be happy to help.

Greg Howald

#4 Post by Greg Howald » Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:55 pm