New member from Canada, eh..

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
Boomod

New member from Canada, eh..

#1 Post by Boomod » Fri Jul 17, 2015 10:44 pm

Myself:
Biochemical R&D Scientist by profession
Located about 100km from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Widower, lost my lovely wife to a long hard battle with cancer when she was 38 about 1.5yrs ago

I purchased an Omax trinocular compound scope, with 4x, 10x, 40x, and 100x(oil) objectives to help take away the pain. I had memories of the first time ever looking through a microscope and the whole new world to get lost in, the feeling of wowness in school, of being capivated and able to stare for hours if the classes didnt end. Later in life in university, i volunteered time working in a botany lab carving resin away from caplet-sized slugs encasing orchid seeds, working under a stereo disection scope to present a flat surface for subsequent microtome work and EM analysis. A very boring, tedious job to many, I remember a total immersion of peace and tranquility that came from working in the world of the superzoomed...

I determined earlier this year that there were things i wanted to see in the small world made big, to show off, that a standard biological scope couldn't work with - 0603 LEDs, leaf structures - that were too thick, or needed different lighting, and I complimented my scope with a (Brand forgotten) stereo zoom disection scope. Its a trinocular body, but, the camera port only works by sliding a lever to redirect one of the eyepiece paths to it, so is that a true trinocular...?