Hi, from Alberta Canada

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
mes0

Hi, from Alberta Canada

#1 Post by mes0 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 7:14 pm

Hi everyone,

I've been lurking these forums for a couple of weeks while I've been researching microscopes worth buying and have learned a great deal.
I'm a hobbyist looking for something in the 1500-2000$ range. I'm interested in phase contrast and darkfield imaging as well as using my D-SLR camera to video and photograph the microverse.

I've checked out many chinese scopes via the internet (amscope, omax, unbranded on alibaba) but the sellers will never send me any photographs of their phase contrast or darkfield capabilities.
I've found a few decent videos on youtube of the phase contrast capabilities at lower magnifications and darkfield capabilities with a dry condenser also at lower magnifications. They looked ok but I know ok at low mag can goto awful at higher mag.

I've recently started checking out the big microscope names..nikon and zeiss. Zeiss doesn't seem to have anything under 2500 for a basic microscope, and nikon offers the e100 and e200 scopes for 2000 or less, but they have the CFI45 and CFI60 optical systems that don't seem to be used outside of nikon. (please correct me if this is wrong). I can find an e100 for ~500, but the nikon rep quoted me 2000$ to get a full (plan 4x-40x-100x) phase contrast kit for this so I feel I'd probably be way better off getting something else that is more upgrade-able.

Anyways just wanted to say hi to everyone because I've been enjoying reading all the old threads and appreciate having this free resource to help me sort things out.
I'm a newbie, so any help or cautions are always appreciated.

Thanks.

Oliver

Re: Hi, from Alberta Canada

#2 Post by Oliver » Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:06 pm

Hello and welcome to the forum.