Hello from Bloomington, IN, USA - home brewer -

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
jgreen

Hello from Bloomington, IN, USA - home brewer -

#1 Post by jgreen » Fri Sep 04, 2015 1:02 am

Hello from Bloomington, IN, USA.

I'm a home brewer and will dive into microscopes as part of my yeast management, looking for bacteria and general fun. I'm an avid photographer having used every format, and was also deep into telescopes but have since given that up. For my first foray, I grabbed an inexpensive Chinese thing from Ebay which was probably a mistake. It was less than 100 shipped, halogen and trinocular - so I popped. It's not here yet, so we'll see what it is next week. Edmund Scientific XSB-411 if anyone knows anything about those.

apochronaut

Re: Hello from Bloomington, IN, USA - home brewer -

#2 Post by apochronaut » Fri Sep 04, 2015 1:38 am

welcome . yeast is yeast and west is west and beware of too much brewhahah!

billbillt

#3 Post by billbillt » Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:04 am

Hi jgreen,

The Chinese microscope will probably do just fine for a hobby... If you were into research, you might would want something with maybe more features... Just my amateur opinion...

BillT

gekko

#4 Post by gekko » Fri Sep 04, 2015 12:19 pm

Welcome to the forum. Your microscope should be fine assuming it is in good working condition. Some knowledgeable people on this forum usually recommend getting an inexpensive scope to begin with, and then, as you gain experience and figure out its limitations as well as your goals, you may decide to get a better one. Yeast cells and bacteria are pretty small, so I guess that you will be using your 40x dry and 100x oil-immersion objectives quite a bit.

jgreen

#5 Post by jgreen » Fri Sep 04, 2015 3:17 pm

Thanks all,