Greetings!

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
Polymerase

Greetings!

#1 Post by Polymerase » Fri Jun 30, 2023 2:41 pm

Hello, everyone!

I have been reading on this forum for quite a while, and find it is time to introduce myself.
Before christmas, when I was 8 or 9 years old, I distinctly told my parents I wanted a microscope. At that time, I had decided I wanted to be a chemist, and had looked at various crystals under an old brass microscope belonging to the father of my best friend. That christmas, I received a small cardboard suitcase, containing a C.O.C. toy microscope, with a few prepared slides and some dissecting tools. It had built-in illumination, and sent me to heaven. Next summer, I had acquired a few books, and succesfully dissected a shrimp, looking at various parts under my beloved instrument.
I never became a chemist. For a while I was a musician, and lectured at high level conservatory. Then I was struck by the life sciences again, went into medicine, and realized my histology would never be good unless I owned a proper microscope. My old C.O.C couod no longer meet my needs. I bought a binocular, quite decent scope from radical instruments. That served me well for quite a while, and got me through a year of histopathology.
Later, I collected a surplus Olympus BH2 BHS set up for phase contrast from a nearby hospital. Then things really started rolling.

The memory of the old brass microscope belonging to my childhood friend’s father never left my mind. Thus, I acquired a 1928 Leitz-Wetzlar. A beautiful instrument with wonderful optics - although not so useful for modern microscopy technique…That didn’t stop me from getting a french brass scope (probably a Nachet) from the 1880s, and a Zeiss from 1908.

I also have three entry level monocular scopes that I got from a school lab. Quite decent, but not really meeting my requirements.