Greetings from Valley Forge PA

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
Quarterbore

Greetings from Valley Forge PA

#1 Post by Quarterbore » Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:18 pm

I have been lurking for a few days and I finally got my account activated. I am almost 50 and I have my undergraduate degree in Pre-Med Biology having used microscopes in Biology, Genetics, Cell Biology, Histology and others. I then got a Masters in Microbiology and worked on Cell Biology and Virology work. From there I was a food Microbiologist for a few years and then I worked in the pharmaceutical industry in QA, R&D and other areas.

My hobbies used to be outdoor related things like hiking, hunting and motorcycle rides. I also am a Den Leader with the Cub Scouts. Unfortionately I am disabled due to Ménière's disease as I am struggling with the loss of my hearing, tinnitus, vertigo, and balance issues. Along with that my hearing is so bad I can't really stand watching TV (closed captions suck) and listening to music doesn't work, and even reading for fun can be tricky at times. So, I've been trying to go back to the basics and find a hobby that fits my newfound reality.

I bought a telescope and was going to give that a try but darn it has been cloudy and I still need a hobbie for the daytime. So, I decided to get a modest Compound Microscope and Sterio Microscope and do this for fun like I used to do in High School. My microscope is a good working Bristoline and it has the usual 4, 10, 40, and 100 oil objectives. My dissecting scope is a modest but effective Swift Sterio 80. Both are more then adequate for my hobby needs for now although after looking at this forum I am starting to think to share in this hobby I should have purchased trinocular heads so I can photograph and video. Perhaps I will consider updates in the future?