New member from Pittsburgh

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
clengman

New member from Pittsburgh

#1 Post by clengman » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:14 pm

Hi,

Just wanted to write a quick post to introduce myself. I'm a researcher in an immunology lab at a hospital in Pittsburgh. In my career in biology research, I've had access to a range of pretty nice optical equipment. My main rig now is a Zeiss Axio Observer used mainly for epi-fluorescence. (Trying to get the boss to spring for an ApoTome to go with it. We'll see if that happens. :D )

I have a 7-year-old daughter who displays a great interest in biology and all sorts of creepy-crawlies. We got a toy microscope (a QX7 digital microscope) a couple years ago and we've had fun with it, but I'd really like to find a nice and serious instrument to take our home explorations further. I came across this forum as I've searched for information on what kind of equipment is available to hobbiest microscopists. I'm getting closer to being ready to make a purchase and I thought I'd go ahead and register on the forum in case I need some quick advice on any ebay listings I might come across.

I'm still pretty torn between some of the affordable used equipment that I'm seeing on ebay and the new instruments from Amscope. A T490 looks like a pretty good value to me, and would be easy to upgrade with Plan/phase objectives and a phase turret if I decide to do that at some point. It also comes with an adapter that I can use to mount my micro four thirds camera right out of the box (I have a c-mount adapter for the camera already.)