Hello from the frozen Northwest!

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
MsLichen

Hello from the frozen Northwest!

#1 Post by MsLichen » Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:14 pm

Hello!

I followed a link from Cloudy Nights, the telescope forum, and ended up here! After reading through the first year of the magazine, decided to check out the forum. I'm a budding lichenologist/bryologist working towards my bachelor's in biology at the moment. I'm a non-traditional student (which is a nice way of saying I'm old compared to the other students. So old that I drive my eldest son to classes on the same campus where I attend :D )

I have an Omax compound trinocular head with a so-so camera, as well as a couple of inexpensive Carson handheld zoom field scopes. I'm very much in the novice stage of microscopy. I know how to operate a scope thanks to school, and I can make decent non-permanent wet mounts. My next goal is to get a dissecting scope to make it easier to identify lichen both visually and with chemical testing.

Looking forward to learning from the others here!

einman

Re: Hello from the frozen Northwest!

#2 Post by einman » Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:06 am

Welcome--

You get a lot of brownie points for earning your degree later in life.. from me at least!!!

MichaelG.

#3 Post by MichaelG. » Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:23 am

einman wrote:Welcome--

You get a lot of brownie points for earning your degree later in life.. from me at least!!!
+1

MichaelG. [ In surprisingly cold and snowy England ]
Edit: Perhaps Lichenologists have the same pioneering spirit as their subjects:
http://moticeuropeamericasblog.blogspot ... -etna.html
Too many 'projects'

MsLichen

#4 Post by MsLichen » Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:35 pm

Thank you for the warm welcome!
MichaelG. wrote: Edit: Perhaps Lichenologists have the same pioneering spirit as their subjects:
http://moticeuropeamericasblog.blogspot ... -etna.html