Hello from North Carolina

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
Scarodactyl

Hello from North Carolina

#1 Post by Scarodactyl » Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:35 pm

Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to microscopy as a hobby--I picked up a gemological microscope for my budding gem lab last year and got the bug. I'd used plenty of petrographic scopes while studying geology, but finally trying a decent stereo scope was a revelation. My main scopes are an SZ7 and an AO580, both on gemolite bases. I'm hoping I might eventually find some help here in adapting a modern camera to the dovetail on the AO580 head, as it seems like it could be challenging.
Here's a picture of my AO580, as well as a couple of pictures shot through my SZ7 (I do have a camera port on it, but am currently just shooting through the eyepiece with my phone and stacking with Helicon).
Olivine crystal in Oregon sunstone surrounded by clouds of copper platelets, FoV 3mm
Crystal plume in agate (probably goethite?), FoV 3mm

einman

Re: Hello from North Carolina

#2 Post by einman » Tue Apr 24, 2018 2:17 am

Welcome! Hmm..that adapter looks familiar!

Scarodactyl

#3 Post by Scarodactyl » Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:27 am

Yup, as well it should! Thanks again for offering it for sale--it's a pretty remarkable part to find loose, especially at such a great price. The microscope is almost entirely tricked out--I also got a 2x auxiliary for it and did some repairs to the base too. I figure getting a camera adapted is the last thing before it's properly finished.

einman

#4 Post by einman » Tue Apr 24, 2018 1:40 pm