Hello from Ohio

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
JamesBeau

Hello from Ohio

#1 Post by JamesBeau » Fri May 25, 2018 5:01 am

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the world of microscopes. That is to say that until very recently, I have not handled one in over 50 years. The last time was in a college microbiology class back in the early 1960's. I found the study of bacteria and the like fascinating but never got back to it. A friend rekindled my interest in microscopy about a month ago. I knew I needed some fresh information on the subject and discovered the MicrobeHunter forum which seemed to be just what I was looking for.

I read every post relating to the purchase of a new microscope that I found on the Beginners Corner forum. This took some time and I found excellent advice on what the relative benefits of purchasing an inexpensive new microscope vs. a used scope from one of the "big four" manufacturers. I decided to go with the used market and after much searching mainly on Ebay found a used Zeiss microscope which from the pictures and description appeared to be in excellent condition. The only possible downside was that it lacked any objective lenses. I made an offer and my offer was accepted. The Zeiss arrived 5 days later and it was in excellent condition. I also purchased three brand new objectives. The Zeiss worked perfectly, to my mind, and the controls (focus and stage) were firm yet very smooth. The lamp worked and I was able to view some prepared slides and the images were bright and clear. Later, I went out and got some pond water samples and viewed my wet slides (with cover glass) and found several little critters swimming around.

My equipment now is :
Zeiss Standard 14 serial no.? 470914-9902/42
Objectives: all are 160mm focal length
Plan 4/0 .10
Zeiss 10/0.22
Zeiss 40/0.65