Hello from Oregon

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
gastrotrichman

Hello from Oregon

#1 Post by gastrotrichman » Mon Nov 12, 2018 4:57 pm

I am a 73-year-old man with a serious interest in freshwater gastrotrichs (microscopic worm-like metazoans). I use primarily a Nikon Microphot with DIC and a tethered PaxCam 5+ digital camera, and a Wild M8 stereo microscope. I sometimes use a Leitz Orthoplan with DIC and a tethered PaxCam 2+ digital camera, and a Bausch & Lomb MicroZoom stereo microscope. I have BA and MS degrees in biology. I worked as a biologist early on, but eventually pursued a career as a lawyer. I returned to my biological roots when I retired from law about a decade ago.

Any other freshwater meiofauna students out there?
gastrotrichman

Nikon Microphot
Leitz Orthoplan
Wild M8
Bausch & Lomb MicroZoom

75RR

Re: Hello from Oregon

#2 Post by 75RR » Mon Nov 12, 2018 8:05 pm

You have some very nice equipment there!

Agree gastrotrichs are pretty cool. You most probably have this key then, but just in case:

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1320
Zeiss Standard WL (somewhat fashion challenged) & Wild M8
Olympus E-P2 (Micro Four Thirds Camera)

MicroBob

#3 Post by MicroBob » Mon Nov 12, 2018 8:24 pm

Welcome to the forum!
It would be nice to see more from your meiofauna work, how you collect, prepare, and what you find.
I haven't had a look at the meiofauna, but I spent some time collecting information on it. A while ago I was offered a lecture on this topic by a professor who has worked a lot on the topic, but for our group meetings I always need a practical part too. So I will dive into this topic sooner or later and it would be nice if you could write a bit about how to get a good start.

Bob

gastrotrichman

#4 Post by gastrotrichman » Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:42 pm