Greetings from Florida

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
AntoniScott

Greetings from Florida

#1 Post by AntoniScott » Wed Dec 25, 2019 2:41 pm

I am new to this web site Forum but have been following MicrobeHunter's Youtube Video posts very carefully. They are very informative. My interest in microscopes goes back many years, back to 1961 when I bought my first decent microscope from Lafayette Radio in Newark, New Jersey. Even by today's standards, the image quality was pretty good, good enough to see the nuclei of cells. Eventually I gravitated towards better microscopes. Back in 1961 I began making microscope slides and have always been fascinated by making them, especially whole mounts of insects.

After college and retirement I started all over again and realized how much I have forgotten. Whole mounts of insects, especially fragile mosquitoes, is a real challenge as the insects are so delicate. I have been plagued with bubbles and wonder how professional slide makes make their sldes without bubbles. I am still working on this and will report to this forum if I have discovered a good method. maybe I will even post a video.

One question I have to the Forum is that of drying slides more quickly. I have heard of heating slides. Does anyone know how hot and for how long ? I do not want to damage the specimen with too much heat. I have experimented with 150 degrees Faranheit for about an hour but it all depends on the thickness of the specimen and the thickness of the mounting medium.