New here, from Wyoming in USA, love lookin' in my scope

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
biptunia

New here, from Wyoming in USA, love lookin' in my scope

#1 Post by biptunia » Thu Apr 16, 2020 6:58 am

Hi!

Love the YouTube channel! I've learned a lot.

About 5 weeks ago I got a AmScope B120C-E1 Siedentopf Binocular Compound Microscope.
I love it!

I also have an endoscope, and a macro lens for macro pix with my DSLR.

I've taken some pictures of my little microscopic friends with my scope, but not happy with the pic quality. I'm looking to spend about 250 USD for a good USB camera (or a DSLR adapter, I have a Canon T4i Rebel).

I bought an 18 dollar adapter for my phone, it's insanely hard to use. I bought a 30 dollar DSLR adapter, it didn't take good pics with my camera. Actually the best pic I've taken was just holding my phone up to the lens, but had lots of vignetting and distortion, also is hard to do the same way twice.

My microscope came with a 1 MP USB camera that just pops in the eyepiece tube, that would be perfect if it were higher quality.

I see some 5, 8, and 10 MP AmScope and cameras of that type on Amazon in my range but the 10 MP one is only USB2, some reviews said it has a 2 second latency, even on stills. Should I get the AmScope 5 MP USB 3.0 camera? There are also ones like that from Swift Cam.

I'd obviously rather have a 5 MP camera with good optics than a 10 MP one with poor optics.

If this doesn't belong in my intro here, I tried to make a post about this, but maybe have to be here a while first?

I'm gonna buy this camera soon. If someone can give me the right answer, I'll even happily use your affiliate link.

Anyway, if anyone has first hand experience and can make a suggestion, please let me know. Thank you for being here, everyone.

Michael

Hobbyst46

Re: New here, from Wyoming in USA, love lookin' in my scope

#2 Post by Hobbyst46 » Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:41 am

Hi and welcome,