Does it make sense to use Nikon CFN lenses on a olympus BH-2?

Everything relating to microscopy hardware: Objectives, eyepieces, lamps and more.
Seta

Does it make sense to use Nikon CFN lenses on a olympus BH-2?

#1 Post by Seta » Thu Feb 18, 2021 9:11 pm

Hi,

Last week got my first microscope; well, I got a mitutoyo FS-50 head few years ago but never got to adapt it the way I wanted and sold it. Lets say is my first biological microscope.

A very dusty BH-2 (Edit:BHT) with D Ach lenses and the swing out type condenser. Everything seems to work fine, only the lock lever seems to be stuck, I do not want to force it. Maybe I will disassemble the whole thing and clean it. I also bought the trinocular head for it, have not received it yet.

Although I am new to microscopy I have experience with focus stacking photography and I own several microscope objectives like mitutoyos, Nikon CFI60 lenses, nikon M/BD plans and others.

I want to do photography with it and first problem I can think of is BH-2 needs corrective projection eyepieces. I use an APS-C camera so the ideal one would be the NFK 1.67x which is both rare and expensive, not interested in the NFK 2.5x. The alternative is to use the afocal method, which I have already tried via the WHK10/20 L eyepiece and a Konica Hexanon 40mm 1.8 pancake lens.
I have also tried some of my nikon BD/M plans via direct projection and seems to work well too. I have to say I am getting a mild hot spot (blue spot) with both methods but I guess it is caused by the extra glass on the binocular head, which is not meant for photography.