First scope advice

Everything relating to microscopy hardware: Objectives, eyepieces, lamps and more.
Dale

First scope advice

#1 Post by Dale » Sat Dec 13, 2014 3:20 am

I've narrowed my search to an Amscope 490B. It has 10X and 20X eyepieces, but a reviewer
suggested adding a 16X to achieve good 1200X without oil. The extra $60 is not a deal breaker.
I'm not a beginner, but my experience dates back to the 50's, and is spotty. I can count cells and use
a microtome, but I've never mounted a specimen or stained. My buy list contains the usual basic supplies:
regular and oil slides, slips, and a slide holder box. My subjects will be the usual small stuff around the house and
garden, no bacteria sized stuff, but gallons of pond water! Any suggestions or opinions?

gekko

Re: First scope advice

#2 Post by gekko » Sat Dec 13, 2014 9:32 am

My 2-cents' worth: It may be useful to review what Oliver wrote in the main Microbe Hunter website about the choice and use of a microscope (much useful information there) in order to remind yourself of the important points (e.g., resolution vs. magnification among other things). I cannot offer suggestions on slide mounting (I've never done any-- I've used only live specimens)-- I hope others will. 10x eyepieces are standard. A 16x or 20x makes sense if your vision (like mine) is not good, otherwise it is, in general, not very useful. If you intend to take pictures, I suggest you get a trinocular microscope-- much more convenient (the Amscope 390B appears to come in both binocular and trinocular versions). Also, if you are going to look at thin sections (you mention microtomes), then consider getting a microscope with "plan" objectives, especially if you intend to take pictures.
Finally, good luck and enjoy this wonderful hobby!

Dale

#3 Post by Dale » Sat Dec 13, 2014 7:13 pm