Nikon S-Ke with lots of accessories - A humbling experience, help needed

Everything relating to microscopy hardware: Objectives, eyepieces, lamps and more.
erikwetterskog

Nikon S-Ke with lots of accessories - A humbling experience, help needed

#1 Post by erikwetterskog » Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:58 am

Dear forum,

I recently posted some questions regarding a microscope at work. I got fantastic responses and I figure now is the time to get my "home" Microscope, the Nikon S-Ke flying and fixed up properly. I will try and put questions in where I can.

I bought this whole lot some years ago at a photo auction. I was desperate to land a compound microscope, so I still paid quite a deal of money for it (so more than $100). I came in the wooden box with tons of accessories. I tried to take a picture of the whole lot. I'm sort of a beginner with this hobby, I've used more quite modern microscopes in my old research job but mostly episcopic models (I'm a materials chemist).

The microscope is in really nice condition, an odd scratch here and there but the surface looks great! When I bought the microscope, the fine focus was busted but I managed to purchase a brass replacement gear and the focus is now 100% working.

The base is an S-Ke with the original lamp housing (Q1: Can you get new lamps nowadays?).

The four objectives on the turret were:

1. Nikon "M" 10 Plan
2. Nikon "S?" 20 Plan
3. Nikon 40 APO
4. Nikon 1.2 Plan with a diaphragm (Q2: This is a weird one, I can't seem to get an image with it).

Q3: How well does these objectives hold up today? Later in the text, I will be looking for pathways to upgrade the set of objective.

There are two condensers + a differential phase contrast set. Q4: What are the differences between the two? One says "1.25" and the other "Achromat 1.40".